So? Sure you can't get rid of it but also you don't have to use it.
Despite what this article is trying to imply you're not actually forced to do any backups, so Microsoft are not seeing your information. Also it's probably be encrypted anyway, but who knows.
You don't have to use it, so this entire article is basically a big while load of nothing.