1. Upload an image as part of a post or comment
  2. Navigate to your profile page -> Uploads
  3. Open image in new tab (and save the URL)
  4. Press "delete" on the image
  5. Attempt to navigate to the saved URL

This should result in a 404 error. Currently, it shows the screenshot. Below is a screenshot I deleted from my profile:

screenshot of the lemmy create post page

Here is confirmation from my user profile taken after the above screenshot was deleted:

screenshot of the lemmy user profile page on "uploads" tab, showing the most recent upload 7 hours ago

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 4 points 1 year ago* (last edited 1 year ago) (1 child)

I might be wrong, but this is still open, so wouldn't that mean pictures are not deleted until this changes?

https://github.com/LemmyNet/lemmy-ui/issues/2359

https://tech.michaelaltfield.net/2024/03/04/lemmy-fediverse-gdpr/

Edit: apparently it was just never marked as resolved but it had been implemented, disregard

  • source
  • hideshow 2 child comments