There's no technical reason why they couldn't sync messages, but there is an attack if they do. Basically, someone could set up a new device with your account and grab all of your past messages. Since Signal doesn't sync messages, they'll only get messages going forward.
It should certainly be an option to sync, but I don't think it should be on by default (or at least it should ask on setup).