you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 3 points 2 years ago (1 child)

Sure, and I think that would send a message to all of your contacts that a new account is using that number, but I'm honestly not sure. If you have an active account (i.e. on a desktop or something), I think you can just change your number if that happens (i.e. get another temp number).

It's certainly more convenient if you use a longer-term number, but I think it's feasible with a throwaway number. Once your account is set up, Signal doesn't need your number for anything if you disable publishing that.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 2 child comments
  • [–] 1 point 2 years ago

    It does send a "your safety number has been updated with user" message. But not as an automated message. Only when a new signal thread is started.

    Haven't tried when only logged in to desktop and changing devices / numbers so I can't speak to that.

  • source
  • parent