I feel like that anger should be directed at the people who made the software, not the people who use it.
The foolproof solution here is to... give people the option to restore what they deleted without contacting tech support. It's obviously needed.
Nobody can expect anyone to read multiple warnings asking them if they're really really sure whether they want to perform a reversible action they set out to do.
That's a textbook example of a poor design that breeds more people desensitized to warnings.