In most situations, your BitLocker recovery key is automatically backed up when BitLocker is first activated:
Unless your base argument is "Microsoft users are all stupid", then I remind you that this is not only default behavior, but is mandatory if your account is associated with an EmtraID account (i.e. any business or school)