It's not "it" that wants you to log in, the devs created the site to be entirely public. but users demanded an option to hide their profiles from logged out users. Any hidden posts are because the user explicitly set the flag in their own settings
The api endpoints are still public btw. Third party clients can see these profiles just fine :| not a fan of that decision tbh