No. The latest changes by Google means all incremental work is now no longer visible to the public until a release is done. For most people and developers this shouldn't make a difference.
As an example lets say I implemented features A, B and C and then did a release to v2. Before the changes you would see A get added, then B then C and then the release. With Google's changes you will see nothing for a while and then all of a sudden see A, B, C and the v2 release all at once.